UPDATED: 24th July 2018

Temporary timetables are now in play for all train services to and from Derby as work takes place at Derby Station between Sunday 22nd July and Sunday 7th October, to allow for major track and signalling work.

The work is part of a £200 million scheme of improvements that will make the station more efficient, and offer improved, and quicker services between Sheffield, Derby, Nottingham and London. Included in the improvements are a new 320-metre platform, new track and new signalling.

During this 79 day period of work some train services will be replaced by buses. Temporary timetables have been released, and include the pickup and drop off locations for all rail replacement bus services so you can plan your journey.

Here are some key dates to look out for:

  • Sunday 22nd July – Monday 3rd September (No trains between Derby and Uttoexter and no Cross Country trains will call at Derby Station)
  • Monday 30th July – Monday 3rd September  (No Trains between Derby and Nottingham and no trains between Derby and Chesterfield/Sheffield)
  • Monday 30th July – Sunday 7th October (London bound services may be affected)
  • Saturday 25th August – Sunday 7th October (No trains between Derby and Matlock)

Work will also be taking place at London Euston on the first phase of HS2, which includes a revamp and expansion of the station. Due to this London Euston will be closed over two weekends in August and one in September. This will affect people travelling by rail around the country including west and east coast services in the Midlands.

  • Saturday 18th August – Sunday 19th August
  • Saturday 25th August – Sunday 26th August (Bank Holiday Weekend)
  • Saturday 1st September – Sunday 2nd September

For details on how your journey may be impacted, visit the Derby Resignalling website, or National Rail.